Alison Naomi Holt

“Don't tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.” ― Anton Chekhov

I’m proud to announce the publication of my newest book, Duchess Rising.

If you love stories about smart, strong, capable women, swords, kings, queens and Spirit Guides, sprinkled with a touch of lesbian romance, this is the book for you. In Book Two of the fantasy series, The Seven Realms of Ar’rothi, Duchess Aurelia (Bree) Makena, first cousin to the king and the former commander of the elite Huntington’s Cavalry, finds herself once more taking up the sword in defense of her king and kingdom.

Stormy clouds of war are moving against Anacafria on two fronts; the Tevaiedin, the dark spirits of the seven realms, and Desdamea, the cruel and grasping queen of the neighboring country of Organdy, are both gathering their forces in a bid to dominate and destroy the kingdom. The Duchess finds her loyalties divided between her adopted daughter, who is the only one who can lead a defense against the Tevaiedin and her king, who needs her skills as a warrior and as one of the commanders of his elite troops.

Duchess Rising is the second book in a powerful and moving fantasy series by Alison Naomi Holt that will appeal to fans of Anne McAffrey and Mercedes Lackey — one that blends the lyrical and mystical with pulse-pounding action.

Archives

Sucuri Verified Site

Walking the Moors With Agatha

As I sit out on my deck watching the fog roll over the fields of my farm, I realize what a wonderful opportunity I’ve had to be able to write in such beauty. It seems wherever I am, I’m usually drawn outdoors to a porch or a patio, especially in the spring, summer and fall, when flowers are blooming, the bees are pollinating and the cicada’s are singing their songs. My writing seems to flow easily when I’m outside the confines of four walls.

read more

Five Reasons a Writer Should Run From Social Media

Multi-tasking using Social Media seems to be all the rage these days. You say you’re a writer. Do you want to be a successful writer? Do you want to take your writing to the next level? Then I highly suggest you jump off the Social Media bandwagon and turn off your internet while you write. Why, you say? Here’s why…

read more

To Live or Not to Live

Home Bio Books The Spirit Child Duchess Rising The Door at the Top of the Stairs Sample – The Door at the Top of the Stairs Credo’s Hope Sample Chapters of Credo’s Hope Credo’s Legacy Credo’s Fire Blog Contact Newsletter Sign-up ←... read more

Getting Kicked Out of the Story

I’ve been practicing a new technique that I learned from my friend, Harvey Stanbrough. If you are a writer, Harvey’s website is full of excellent material he’s written and collected on everything having to do with writing. He’s a great writer himself, but as a... read more

Different Strokes

Writing mysteries comes easily to me since most of my adult life has been spent unraveling true to life mysteries as an officer in a large metropolitan police force. Solving cases is really nothing more than methodical fact-finding and taking the time to follow-up on... read more