DUCHESS RISING

You are invited to enter Ar’rothi, a world as vividly realized as Narnia or Middle Earth, a world where animal spirits guide humans towards enlightenment, and in which an orphaned girl and a warrior duchess must join forces against an evil that threatens everything they have learned to love.

If you love stories about smart, strong, capable women, swords, kings, queens and Spirit Guides, sprinkled with a touch of lesbian romance, this is the book for you. In the second book of the fantasy series, The Seven Realms of Ar’rothi, Duchess Aurelia (Bree) Makena, first cousin to the king and the former commander of the elite Huntington’s Cavalry, finds herself once more taking up the sword in defense of her king and kingdom.

Stormy clouds of war are moving against Anacafria on two fronts; the Tevaiedin, the dark spirits of the Seven Realms, and Desdamea, the cruel and grasping queen of the neighboring country of Organdy, are both gathering their forces in a bid to dominate and destroy the kingdom. The Duchess finds her loyalties divided between her adopted daughter, who is the only one who can lead a defense against the Tevaiedin and her king, who needs her skills as a warrior and as one of the commanders of his elite troops.

Duchess Rising is the second book in a powerful and moving fantasy series by Alison Naomi Holt that will appeal to fans of Anne McAffrey and Mercedes Lackey — one that blends the lyrical and mystical with pulse-pounding action.

REVIEWS:

“Great follow up to the first book in the series. The “plot thickens” as far as what’s happening in the Realms, and the characters are becoming more complex. I love the introduction of the element of romance and some nice erotic bits. Anxiously awaiting the next installment.” J@KE – AMAZON

“Loved this second book in the series. The characters are coming into their own, and the plot continues to grow. I can hardly wait for the next book!” MARCIE JONES – AMAZON

“Left me wanting more.” DIANE FOSCANTE – AMAZON

“It has been about two and half years since I read Spirit Child, so I was a little concerned about picking up Duchess Rising cold, without at least skimming the last half of the first book. However, I didn’t. Partly because I wanted to know how long it takes me to get back into a story that I haven’t thought about for a long period of time. Yeah, occasionally I would see Spirit Child’s book cover, which I love, and I would remember I really liked that story. I think it speaks a lot to the author’s talent if I don’t need an in-depth recap to get back into their fantasy world. Ms. Holt’s must have really impressed me because I didn’t have any trouble getting back in tune with the story. Some names may have escaped my memory but the author has a glossary of names and terms at the end of the book.”  – ?whazithinkin on Amazon